A city of strangers…

For most of this blog, I’ve been writing about various songs and skits on the show as well as the members of Sha Na Na.

And while I haven’t gotten around to it before, I have not forgotten about the show’s wonderful supporting cast. What would the Sha Na Na show be without the Window Lady, Ginger, Officer Fussy, Lorraine, Winston and the rest? I fully intend to shine the spotlight on each of these wonderful actors in due time. But first, I’d like a present a brief feature on someone I consider “the 11th Sha Na Na”, Pamela Myers.

Basically, last night while watching the special 2011 performance of the Sondheim musical “Company” on PBS, I was reminded of the Broadway show’s connection to Sha Na Na. Back in 1970, our very own Ginger, Pamela Myers, created the role of Marta, a vibrant young woman who is in love with the city of New York. The following year, she was nominated for the Tony Award for Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Musical.

As a long time Sondheim fan, in my opinion Marta’s big number “Another Hundred People” ranks among some of his very best songs, and a big part of that is due to Pamela’s original interpretation.

Below is a recent clip of Ms. Myers performing the song, and you can see, she’s still got the pipes. Under that, a clip from a PBS salute to Broadway, and finally, a clip from Sha Na Na, in which Ginger sings about those ten guys on her New York street.

About bitofluff

Web producer/pop history culture vulture/finder of neat stuff, writer of "bits of fluff". Hopefully my interests will interest others.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment